Criminal Defense Attorney in Layton, Utah

Felonies


Utah Criminal Code §76-3-205

A felony is the most serious type of crime you can be convicted of in the state of Utah. Felonies are classified sigmaessays into one of the following categories:

  • Capital offense
  • First degree felony
  • Second degree felony
  • Third degree felony

Capital Offense

If you are convicted of a capital crime you can face life in prison or even be sentenced to death. These are very serious crimes and will stay on your criminal record for the rest of your life.

If a notice of intent to seek the death penalty has been filed, aggravated murder is a capital felony

What types are crimes are classified as a capital crime?

  • Aggravated murder*

*If a notice of intent to seek the death penalty has been filed, aggravated murder is a capital felony

*Please visit the Utah State Court website for more information about Capital crime penalties at www.utcourts.gov.


First Degree Felony

If you are convicted of a first degree felony in the state of Utah you can be fined up to $10,000 and be sentenced anywhere from 5 years to the rest of your life in prison.

What types of crimes are classified as a first degree felony?

  • Murder
  • Rape
  • Aggravated sexual assault
  • Child Kidnapping
  • Aggravated burglary, robbery or arson
  • Possession of myhomework market a controlled substance with the intent to distribute close to a school

*Please visit the Utah State Court website for more information about first degree felony penalties at www.utcourts.gov.


Second Degree Felony

If you are convicted with a second degree felony in Utah you can be faced with a fine of up to $10,000 and a prison sentence of 1-15 years.

What types of crimes are classified as a second degree felony?

  • Manslaughter
  • Automobile theft
  • Perjury
  • Sexual abuse
  • Child abuse
  • Robbery or burglary
  • kidnapping
  • $5,000 or more of forged checks
  • $5,000 or more of theft

*Please visit the Utah State Court website for more information about second degree felony penalties at www.utcourts.gov.


Third Degree Felony

If you are convicted of a third degree felony in Utah you can be sentenced up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

What types of crimes are classified as a third degree felony?

  • Aggravated assualt
  • Joyriding (24 hours or more)
  • DUI (Third offense within 10 years)
  • Prescriptions that have been forged
  • Possession of any controlled substance
  • Possession of marijuana with the intent to distribute to others
  • Theft ($1,000-$5,000 of value)
  • Forged checks ($1,000-$5,000 of value)

*Please visit the Utah State Court website for more information about third degree felony penalties at www.utcourts.gov.

Crminal defense attorney in Layton, Utah

Schedule a free case evaluation today

Click Here

The information on provided on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. The use of this website does not create an attorney-client relationship. The viewing and receipt of the information on this site, or the use of the online submission form, does not constitute and attorney-client relationship. You should consult a qualified attorney in your state for advice regarding your situation.