Criminal Defense Attorney in Layton, Utah

Misdemeanors


Utah Criminal Code 76-3-301

Misdemeanors in the state of Utah are classified as one of the following:

  • Class A misdemeanor
  • Class B misdemeanor
  • Class C misdemeanor

*Class A is the most serious type


Class A Misdemeanors

Class A misdemeanors are the most serious types of misdemeanors. If you have been charged with a Class A misdemeanor you could face jail time of up to one year and fines of up to $2500.

You may request to have this cleared from your criminal record 5 years after the date of conviction. If multiple class A misdemeanors have been committed then you have to wait 15 years to make a request.

What types of crimes are classified as a class A misdemeanor?

  • Theft of between $500 and $1500 of value
  • Possession of marijuana (1-16 ounces)
  • Assault on a police officer
  • Criminal mischief
  • DUI that results in an injury

*Please visit the Utah State Court website for more information about class A misdemeanor penalties at www.utcourts.gov


Class B Misdemeanors

In the state of Utah, class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to 6 months in the county jail and could face fines of up to $1000.

You may request to have a class B misdemeanor removed from your criminal record 3 years after the date of conviction, unless multiple offenses have committed then you will need to wait 12 years.

What types of crimes are classified as a class B misdemeanor?

  • Theft of under $500 in value
  • DUI that doesn’t result in an injury; first time offenders
  • Assault
  • Resisting arrest from an officer
  • Trespassing
  • Carrying a concealed weapon
  • Multiple traffic tickets
  • Reckless Driving
  • Criminal Mischief
  • Possession of marijuana ( less than 1 ounce)
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia

*Please visit the Utah State Court website for more information about class B misdemeanor penalties at www.utcourts.gov


Class C Misdemeanors

The least serious crimes are classified as class C misdemeanors. Although these are the least serious, if convicted you can face up to 90 days in the county jail and pay up to $750.

You can request to have a class C misdemeanor removed from your criminal record 3 years after the date of conviction, 6 years if you have multiple convictions.

What types of crimes are classified as a class C misdemeanor?

  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Public intoxication

*Please visit the Utah State Court website for more information about class C misdemeanor penalties at www.utcourts.gov

9 + 4 =

  • Rated Superb by AVVO
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • National Trial Lawyers Top 40 Under 40
  • Client Choice Criminal Defense Attorney
  • Nations Top One Percent
  • 10 Best in Client Satisfaction
  • Top AV rated law firm
  • 25 Years in Criminal Defense
Infractions Criminal Defense Attorney in Layton, Utah

Criminal Defense Attorney in Layton, Utah

Schedule a free case evaluation today

Click Here

The information on provided on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. The use of this website does not create an attorney-client relationship. The viewing and receipt of the information on this site, or the use of the online submission form, does not constitute and attorney-client relationship. You should consult a qualified attorney in your state for advice regarding your situation.